Home > Asian, Malay > Mak’s place

Mak’s place

I always enjoyed Mak’s place since it was known as Singapore-Malay-Indian Restaurant previously. I patronised the place since my second year, always heading there for lunch during weekdays as they sold fish curry. It is only during Wed-Fri lunch do they sell rice combination, but I have not been able to make time to head there for lunch during those days. Hence, I have only been going to Mak’s place for dinner.

It is a small restaurant along William Street, and it is not a restaurant that you will look into and say let us try this. However, it has been a restaurant that I have been going to whenever I cannot decide on a place to eat, and I do enjoy heading there to it.

I am a huge fan of mee goreng, and my favourite order at Mak’s place is Mee goreng Indian Style. I have also ordered (not on the menu) by accident Mee Goreng Kampong style which is different from the indian¬† as it is fried with anchoivies, bringing a saltier taste to it. The mee rebus at Mak’s place is Mos’s favourite dish. Mos does not like dishes with yellow noodle but mee rebus is one exception. Unless you make mee rebus yourself (mee rubus premix can be bought at Emma’s Seafood and Yong tau foo (a chinese oriental shop, corner of William street and Newcastle street in northbridge)), this is probably one of the best place you can have mee rebus.

This time, I decided I shall try something new. Mos and I ordered: Mee Siam, Nasi Ayam Penyet and Teh Tarik.


Teh tarik (aka pulled tea)  is a special filtered asian tea with sweetened condensed milk poured from jug to jug to mix and froth the top (the action known as pulling). I managed to witness the waitress actually pulling the tea, which you seldom see in Perth.

The tea served was hot, not too sweet, but the tea was not overpowering the drink. It was a good mix, and I really enjoyed my teh tarik. But for the price, the drink was a little small, I would have liked a bigger glass.

The mee siam was wayyy too oily, that Mos had to remove the layer of oil from the top. It was a little too spicy and it was not sour enough. They should have given more lime, as the lime is suppose to reduce the spiciness, and add to the sourness of the dish. There were pieces of beef in it which was too tough, it would have been better if it was served with shredded chicken meat.

Nasi Ayam Penyet is rice cooked in chicken broth served with marinated fried chicken, soup and homemade sambal blachan (chilli paste). The rice indeed was cooked with chicken broth as you can smell and taste the fragrance of chicken. It was really similar to hainanese chicken rice. The skin of the chicken was not crispy as I hope it would been since it was fried, and the meat was a little too dry, probably because they served the breast meat. The chicken was marinated well, you can even taste the flavour from the bone, which I enjoyed sucking. For those who likes chilli, their homemade sambal blachan is really spicy and brings a spicy but nice flavour to the dish. The lime they gave did tune down the spicy level, and I enjoyed having the chilli with everything I ate, even just chilli and rice.

Overall, I still like my mee goreng. Oh, and this place does sell Indian rojak with a sweet potato dipping sauce which is a must try, and they do sell chinese rojak as well. Although, the last time I ordered, they had too much lettuce as a garnish, and reducing the other ingredients, I hope it was just a one off incident.

On a side note, I must applaud the waitress. There is only one waitress on the floor, taking the order, making the drinks, serving the food and clearing the plates. The restaurant is not that busy, so she has been doing a wonderful job. As it is not busy, it makes me wonder if the business has been bad as I noticed a note at the counter that the business is for sale. It will be quite sad if it does get sold and the food is no longer the same. I am hoping for the best, so spread the word. The place is not fancy, but the food is worth a try.

Overall rating: Above average.

Will I recommend this restaurant: Yes.

Mak’s Place
313 William Street
Northbridge, WA 6003
Tel: 9227 0190
Open: Wed – Friday, 12 – 3pm & 5-9pm
Sat & Sun: 1130am – 9pm

Average price: $15-20 per person

Mak's Place on Urbanspoon

Categories: Asian, Malay Tags: , ,
  1. Mme Bollinger
    April 17, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    Hey, that mee siam really looks like it could clog your arteries lol. Try the mee siam at Tina’s Kitchen in South Perth. Delicious + much less oil! My review on it is on Urbanspoon… Cheers.

    • July 19, 2014 at 10:22 pm

      Unfortunately I saw this too late. I have checked Tina’s Kitchen and the place has been replaced by Satay on Charcoal now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

