Home > beverages, coffee, University > Barrett’s Bread

Barrett’s Bread

Conveniently located near my uni, whenever I feel like a good cup of coffee, I would make my way there. Today, was the day I felt like a decent cup before a long 3 hours tutoring session. I had coffee at Barrett’s only 2 weeks ago, and they served a pretty good cup that my friend, Brainy, was pretty impressed by it.

I went there about lunch time and thought it might be a bad idea, as lunch time means a pack cafe. To my surprise when I got there, only two tables were taken. Maybe everyone had lunch early. Ordered a large flat white to go.

The barista serving us, was not the same one as previously. He was not as friendly, and when he was told that there was a flatwhite take away, he did not make it immediately. In fact, he walked off to clear some cups, while I was just standing there waiting. Looked around, before getting started with my flatwhite.

I got my flat white and it was HOT! (and I burnt my tongue) I like to be able to drink my coffee when it gets served, not wait awhile later. It was totally different previously. Well, when I finally managed to drink, at least the coffee was not burnt. (They use Fiori beans for those who would like to know, I did not get a look at what milk they use).

How was the coffee? I had better from this place. The coffee texture was rough. I also felt that the flat white was a little too strong for me.Although it was still better than guild’s coffee.

Will I return? Most probably when I want a decent cup. however, coffee there is not cheap (half price if I buy guild coffee). I hope the good barista gets back.

That said, I love the tarts from Barrett’s bread. I bought a few of them last year for friends’ birthdays. I’ve yet to try their bread, but I have heard good reviews from friends.

Overall rating: Below average. (simply base on their coffee and attitude)

Will I recommend this cafe: No (for anyone not near Nedlands)
Yes (if u really want a decent cup of coffee near Nedlands)


Barrett’s Bread
19 Broadway
Nedlands, WA 6009
Tel: 9389 6404
Web: http://www.barrettsbakery.com/

Open: Mon – Fri, 6.30am – 5.30pm
Sat, 6.30am-4pm
Sun and public holidays, 6.30am – 3pm.


Barrett's Bread on Urbanspoon

Categories: beverages, coffee, University Tags: , , ,
  1. May 28, 2013 at 10:30 am

    I have been browsing on-line greater than 3 hours
    today, yet I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours.

    It’s pretty value sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more helpful than ever before.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

